Deutsche TV-Plattform

CI Plus

1st Round Table on CI Plus 2.0 on 17 June 2021

After two successful industry workshops with up to 50 participants, the Deutsche TV-Plattform is now launching an open Round Table for further discussions about the standard CI Plus 2.0 and its potential market introduction in the DACH region.

To this end, the Deutsche TV-Plattform invites all affected and interested companies from the DACH region and beyond to participate in the discussions regarding CI Plus 2.0 and the framework conditions necessary for a market launch.

The first Round Table will took place on:

Thursday, 17 June 2021
10:30 am – 1:00 pm CEST
Location: WebEx events

Please note: In order to enable an efficient communication with and between the participants of the Round Tables in the future, we are creating a mailing-reflector for this purpose. This will be used exclusively for the exchange of information and documents relating the Round Tables. Your personal data will not be visible to third parties in the course of email communication via the reflector.

By registering for the Round Tables, you agree that Deutsche TV-Plattform can use your email address for this purpose. After the Round Tables have ended, the data will be deleted. The data will be used only used for this purpose and will not be shared with third parties.

The next date will take place in September and will be coordinated via Doodle poll.

Workshop about CI Plus 2.0 on 24 March 2021

On 24 March 2021, Deutsche TV-Plattform will hold a digital workshop on CI Plus.

Wednesday, 24 March 2021
1pm – approx. 4pm CET
WebEx-Events

The aim is to introduce and showcase the CI Plus standard in version 2.0, including a discussion of the prospects for a market launch from the perspective of the industry, network operators and content providers, including the consumer perspective.

The CI Plus Task Force of the Deutsche TV-Plattform has already been working on CI Plus 2.0 for a year and presented a discussion paper on this topic in autumn 2020.

We will publish detailed information with regard to the agenda and procedure shortly.

If you are interested in attending the event, please contact our office.

Discussion on perspectives of CI-Plus 2.0

Deutsche TV-Plattform discusses a possible market launch of the new version of the CI Plus Interface - CI+ 2.0. CI Plus enables the reception and use of encrypted audiovisual content without an external set-top box. For example, encrypted HDTV channels can be used with TV sets in which no encryption system is installed. So far, so-called CI Plus modules have provided more flexibility in television. These plug-in modules would in future be replaced by USB sticks from version 2.0 onwards.  

The future migration to USB clients would in principle bring benefits for consumers and market participants - but it also raises many questions in the industry, for example with regard to logistics, communication or the length of a migration phase. In order to make the latter consumer-friendly, it would be necessary, in particular from the point of view of platform and content providers, to ensure a sufficiently long transition phase during which the old and new CI Plus interfaces are supported in parallel. The German TV Platform discussed these issues in a first step and structured "Pro & Contra" in a technical document. 

At the beginning of 2021, Deutsche TV-Plattform plans to bring together an extended circle of relevant companies and stakeholders from the DACH region who are concerned with a possible switchover. In this circle it will be further discussed whether a roadmap for a CI Plus 2.0 introduction can be developed.  

If you are interested, please contact our office

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

Deutsche TV-Plattform

CI Plus

Round Table zu CI Plus 2.0 am 17. Juni 2021

Nach zwei erfolgreichen Branchen-Workshops mit bis zu 50 Teilnehmern startet die Deutsche TV-Plattform jetzt ein offenes Round Table für weitere Diskussionen zum Standard CI Plus 2.0 und dessen möglicher Markteinführung in der DACH-Region.

Dazu lädt die Deutsche TV-Plattform alle betroffenen und interessierten Unternehmen aus der DACH-Region und darüber hinaus ein, an den Gesprächen rund um CI Plus 2.0 und die für eine Markteinführung notwendigen Rahmenbedingungen teilzunehmen.

Das erste Round Table-Event fand statt am:

Donnerstag, 17. Juni 2021
10:30 – 13:00 Uhr
Ort: WebEx-Events

Hinweis: Um zukünftig eine effiziente Kommunikation mit und zwischen den Teilnehmern des Round Tables zu ermöglichen, erstellen wir hierfür einen Mailing-Reflektor. Dieser wird ausschließlich für den Austausch von Informationen und Dokumenten zu den Round Tables verwendet. Ihre persönlichen Daten werden für Dritte im Zuge der Email Kommunikation über den Reflektor nicht sichtbar sein.

Mit der Anmeldung zum Round Table erklären Sie sich einverstanden, dass die Deutsche TV-Plattform  ihre E-Mail-Adresse für diesen Zweck nutzt. Nach Beendigung der Round Tables werden die Daten gelöscht. Eine andere Verwendung oder Weitergabe an Dritte findet nicht statt.

Der nächste Termin wird im September stattfinden und per Doodle-Abfrage abgestimmt.

Workshop zu CI-Plus 2.0 am 24. März 2021

Am 24. März 2021 veranstaltet die Deutsche TV-Plattform einen digitalen Workshop zum Thema CI Plus.

Mittwoch, 24. März 2021
13:00 – ca. 16:00 Uhr
WebEx-Events

Ziel ist eine Vorstellung des CI Plus Standards in der Version 2.0, inkl. Diskussion der Perspektiven einer Markteinführung aus Sicht der Industrie, Netzbetreiber und Inhalteanbieter inkl. der Verbraucherperspektive.
Die Task Force CI Plus der Deutschen TV-Plattform befasst sich bereits seit einem Jahr mit CI Plus 2.0, und hat hierzu im Herbst ein Diskussionspapier vorgelegt.

Diskussion zu Perspektiven von CI-Plus 2.0

Die Deutsche TV-Plattform diskutiert eine mögliche Markteinführung der neuen Version der CI-Plus-Schnittstelle – CI+ 2.0. CI Plus ermöglicht den Empfang und die Nutzung von verschlüsselten audiovisuellen Inhalten ohne externe Set-Top-Box. So können z. B. verschlüsselte HDTV-Sender mit Fernsehern genutzt werden, in denen kein Verschlüsselungssystem eingebaut ist. Bislang sorgten sogenannte CI-Plus-Module für mehr Flexibilität beim Fernsehen. Diese Einsteckmodule würden perspektivisch ab der Version 2.0 durch USB-Sticks ersetzt werden.  

Die künftige Umstellung auf USB-Clients würde prinzipiell Vorteile für Verbraucher und Marktbeteiligte bringen – wirft aber auch viele Fragen in der Industrie auf, etwa bezüglich Logistik, Kommunikation oder der Länge einer Migrationsphase. Um letztere verbraucherfreundlich zu gestalten, wäre es insbesondere aus Sicht der Plattform- und Contentanbieter erforderlich, eine ausreichend lange Übergangsphase zu gewährleisten, in der die alte und neue CI Plus Schnittstelle parallel unterstützt werden. Die Deutsche TV-Plattform hat diese Fragestellungen in einem ersten Schritt diskutiert und „Pro & Contra“ in einem Fachdokument strukturiert. 

Anfang 2021 plant die Deutsche TV-Plattform einen erweiterten Kreis aus den relevanten Unternehmen und Stakeholdern aus der DACH-Region zusammenzubringen, die sich mit einem möglichen Umstieg befassen. In diesem Kreis soll weiter erörtert werden, ob eine Roadmap für eine CI Plus 2.0-Einführung entwickeln werden kann.  

Wenn Sie Interesse an der Mitarbeit haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an die Geschäftsstelle.