Deutsche TV-Plattform

WG Media over IP

Nick Brambring
Dr. Niklas Brambring, Head of WG Media over IP

The working group Media over IP is working on the transformation of the distribution of media content via hybrid and converging infrastructures and the related technical issues. The technical challenges for the distribution of content over IP infrastructures are increasing. The focus is thus on the "physical layer" of distribution and here on non-linear and mobile forms. Current priorities include content delivery (Ingest/Encoding Task Force) and a structured entry into the relatively new but highly relevant world of quality measurement for video streaming (Delivery Task Force).

The working groups of Deutsche TV-Plattform are the heart of the association - the task forces are quasi the "engine room" of the working groups. This is where the members of the working group work in a focussed and targeted manner on topics which have been identified as particularly important or urgent in the course of the working group's work. The active involvement in the task forces is open to all members. 

Task Force Ingest/Encoding

The Task Force Ingest/Encoding develops best-practice standards with regard to practical, practical and economically viable recommendations for the delivery of content.

Frank Heineberg, Head of Task Force Ingest/Encoding

In the chain from content creation to marketing to the customer, one or more broadcasters/content providers each deliver content to a platform. At present, there is a multitude of codecs and transmission paths with different technical specifications and quality characteristics. The resulting complexity generates increased efforts, both for broadcasters and platforms, and often represents a compromise in the maximum possible signal quality. By developing best practice standards within the framework of the AG Media over IP, the aim is to draw up practicable, practical and economically viable recommendations that can benefit the entire industry.

Task Force Delivery

The Task Force Delivery is intensively dedicated to the topic of measuring the quality of video streaming - both from the user's perspective (QoE - Quality of Experience) and the operator's perspective (QoS - Quality of Service).

Peter Pogrzeba, Head of Task Force Delivery

The Task Force Delivery deals with the entire chain of IP stream delivery - from encoding to the end-user device. For a broad user acceptance of IP streaming, a quality and stability of the service comparable to broadcasting must be guaranteed. For this reason, the Task Force Delivery is intensively engaged in the topic of measuring the quality of video streaming - both from the user's perspective (QoE - Quality of Experience) and from the operator's perspective (QoS - Quality of Service). The Task Force Delivery sees itself as a group of experts and pioneers in the field of streaming, which relies on international standards and an open exchange of experience with the members of the DTVP and other market participants.

Deutsche TV-Plattform

AG Media over IP

Nick Brambring
Dr. Niklas Brambring, Leiter Arbeitsgruppe Media over IP

Die Arbeitsgruppe Media over IP befasst sich mit der Transformation der Verbreitung von Medieninhalten über hybride und konvergierende Infrastrukturen und den damit verbundenen technischen Fragestellungen. Die technischen Herausforderungen für die Verbreitung der Inhalte über IP-Infrastrukturen nehmen zu. Der Fokus liegt also auf dem „Physical Layer“ der Verbreitung und hier auf non-linearen und mobilen Formen. Aktuelle Schwerpunkte sind z. B. die Zulieferung von Content (Task Force Ingest/Encoding) und ein strukturierter Einstieg in die relativ neue, aber hochrelevante Welt der Qualitätsmessung bei Video-Streaming (Task Force Delivery).

Die Arbeitsgruppen der Deutschen TV-Plattform sind das Herzstück des Vereins – die Task Forces sind quasi der Maschinenraum der Arbeitsgruppen. Hier werden fokussiert und gezielt Themen von Mitgliedern der AG bearbeitet, die sich im Rahmen der AG-Arbeit als besonders wichtig oder drängend herauskristallisiert haben. Das aktive Engagement in den Task Forces steht grundsätzlich allen Mitgliedern offen. 

Task Force Ingest/Encoding

Die Task Force Ingest/Encoding erarbeitet Best-Practice-Standards hinsichtlich praktikabler, zweckmäßiger und wirtschaftlich sinnvoller Empfehlungen für die Zulieferung von Content.

Frank Heineberg, Leiter Task Force Ingest/Encoding

In der Kette von der Erstellung des Contents bis hin zur Vermarktung an den Endkunden liefern jeweils ein oder mehrere Broadcaster / Content Provider einer Plattform Inhalte zu. Hierbei gibt es derzeit eine Vielzahl von Codecs und Übertragungswegen mit unterschiedlichen technischen Spezifikationen und Qualitätseigenschaften. Die daraus resultierende Komplexität erzeugt erhöhte Aufwände, sowohl bei Broadcastern als auch bei Plattformen, und stellt oft einen Kompromiss in der maximal möglichen Signalqualität dar. Durch Erarbeitung von Best-Practice-Standards im Rahmen der AG Media over IP sollen praktikable, zweckmäßige und wirtschaftlich sinnvolle Empfehlungen erarbeiten werden, die der gesamten Branche zu Gute kommen können.

Task Force Delivery

Die Task Force Delivery widmet sich intensiv dem Thema der Messung der Qualität von Videostreaming – sowohl aus Nutzersicht (QoE – Quality of Experience), als auch aus Betreibersicht (QoS – Quality of Service).

Peter Pogrzeba, Leiter Task Force Delivery

Die Task Force Delivery befasst sich mit der Gesamtkette der Auslieferung von IP Streams – vom Encoding bis hin zum Endgerät. Für eine breite Nutzerakzeptanz des IP-Streamings muss dabei eine mit dem Rundfunk vergleichbare Qualität und Stabilität des Dienstes gewährleistet werden. Aus diesem Grund widmet sich die Task Force Delivery intensiv dem Thema der Messung der Qualität von Videostreaming – sowohl aus Nutzersicht (QoE – Quality of Experience), als auch aus Betreibersicht (QoS – Quality of Service). Die Task Force Delivery begreift dabei sich als Gruppe von Experten und Vorreitern auf dem Gebiet des Streamings, die auf internationale Standards und einen offenen Erfahrungsaustausch mit den Mitgliedern der DTVP und weiteren Marktteilnehmern setzt.