Deutsche TV-Plattform

WG Smart Media

Nicole Agudo Berbel, Head of WG Smart Media

The working group Smart Media of Deutsche TV-Plattform has been promoting the development of smart TV and smart applications in the German market for many years. It deals with addressable and personal TV, HbbTV, multiscreen scenarios, OTT, data protection and security as well as marketing potential. 

Next session

11. März 2022

The working groups of Deutsche TV-Plattform are the heart of the association - the task forces are quasi the "engine room" of the working groups. This is where the members of the working group work in a focussed and targeted manner on topics which have been identified as particularly important or urgent in the course of the working group's work. The active involvement in the task forces is open to all members. 

Task Force ADB2

"We pave the way for the introduction of new HbbTV services with ADB2 in Germany".

Frank Heineberg, Head of Task Force ADB2

ADB2 is the abbreviation for "Application Discovery over Broadband". It is a complementary HbbTV specification that uses watermarking (additional watermarks in audio/video) to provide an alternative way of launching HbbTV applications and transmitting stream events. These services can be played out on HbbTV-capable televisions by means of ADB2 even if the broadcaster's original HbbTV signal cannot be received - for example, if a set-top box connected via HDMI is not HbbTV-capable.

This results in a large market potential for ATV content and forms of advertising, but at the same time this new technology is complex. The ADB2 task force is therefore preparing a white paper describing technical profiles and minimum requirements for HbbTV devices for the market launch of ADB2, to be published in Q1 2021.

Task Force Metadata

The Metadata Task Force has recently added non-linear content to the basic set of metadata and is currently evaluating how far the initiative can be brought up to European level.

Uwe Barann, Head of Task Force Metadata

The distribution of programme metadata takes place in several steps and often between more than two partners: The programme provider acts as data provider, metadata service provider and EPG operator each as data recipient. This causes frictional losses - data does not arrive at the end of the chain as intended by the data provider or is not sent as required for display. The project Metadata aims to contribute to reducing frictional losses. Programme organisers are to be sensitised to the fact that a certain minimum set of formatted and structured data is required for the findability of their programmes. The results of the project will give market participants an indication of what data can be expected and how to make better use of the data received. The stated aim is to minimise the gap between what is available and what is expected in terms of mapping.

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

Deutsche TV-Plattform

AG Smart Media

Nicole Agudo Berbel, Leiterin Arbeitsgruppe Smart Media

Die Arbeitsgruppe Smart Media der Deutschen TV-Plattform fördert seit vielen Jahren die Entwicklung von Smart-TV und smarten Anwendungen im deutschen Markt. Sie befasst mit Addressable und Personal TV, HbbTV, der Auffindbarkeit von Inhalten, Multiscreen-Szenarien, OTT, Datenschutz und Sicherheit sowie Vermarktungspotenzialen. 

Nächste Sitzung der Arbeitsgruppe

11. März 2022

Die Arbeitsgruppen der Deutschen TV-Plattform sind das Herzstück des Vereins – die Task Forces sind quasi der Maschinenraum der Arbeitsgruppen. Hier werden fokussiert und gezielt Themen von Mitgliedern der AG bearbeitet, die sich im Rahmen der AG-Arbeit als besonders wichtig oder drängend herauskristallisiert haben. Das aktive Engagement in den Task Forces steht grundsätzlich allen Mitgliedern offen. 

Task Force ADB2

„Wir ebnen den Weg für die Einführung neuer HbbTV-Services mit ADB2 in Deutschland“

Frank Heineberg, Leiter Task Force Glossar ADB2

ADB2 ist die Abkürzung für „Application Discovery over Broadband“. Dabei handelt es sich um eine ergänzende HbbTV-Spezifikation, die mittels Watermarking (zusätzliche Wasserzeichen in Audio/Video) eine alternative Möglichkeit zum Start von HbbTV-Applikationen sowie die Übertragung von Stream-Events ermöglicht. Diese Dienste können mittels ADB2 auf HbbTV-fähigen Fernsehern auch dann ausgespielt werden, wenn das ursprüngliche HbbTV-Signal des Broadcasters nicht empfangen werden kann – etwa, wenn eine über HDMI angeschlossen Set-Top-Box nicht HbbTV-fähig ist.

Daraus resultiert ein großes Marktpotenzial für ATV-Inhalte und Werbeformen, gleichzeitig ist diese neue Technologie aber komplex. Die Task Force ADB2 erarbeitet deswegen ein White Paper, das technische Profile und Mindestanforderungen bzgl. HbbTV-Geräte für die Markteinführung von ADB2 beschreibt und in Q1 2021 veröffentlicht werden soll.

Task Force Metadaten

Die Task Force Metadaten hat kürzlich das Basisset Metadaten um den Aspekt non-lineare Inhalte erweitert und evaluiert momentan, inwiefern die Initiative auf europäische Ebene gehoben werden kann.

Uwe Barann, Leiter Task Force Metadaten

Die Distribution von Programm-Metadaten erfolgt in mehreren Schritten und häufig zwischen mehr als zwei Partnern: Der Programmveranstalter agiert als Datengeber, Metadatendienstleister und EPG-Betreiber je als Datennehmer. Dies verursacht Reibungsverluste – Daten kommen nicht so am Ende der Kette an, wie vom Datengeber intendiert, oder werden nicht so abgeschickt wie zur Anzeige nötig. Zur Verringerung der Reibungsverluste will das Projekt Metadaten beitragen. Programmveranstalter sollen dahingehend sensibilisiert werden, dass für die Auffindbarkeit ihrer Programme ein bestimmtes Minimalset an formatierten und strukturierten Daten erforderlich ist. Mit den Ergebnissen des Projekts erhalten die Marktteilnehmer Hinweise darauf, mit welchen Daten zu rechnen ist, und wie auf diesem Weg eingehende Daten besser genutzt werden können. Dabei ist es das erklärte Ziel, die Kluft zwischen den Möglichkeiten bei der Bereitstellung und den Erwartungen bei der Abbildung zu gering wie möglich zu halten.

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner