Deutsche TV-Plattform

Market Figures

German TV market: share of UHD sets reaches 70 percent

In the first nine months of 2020, the share of UHD televisions in the overall TV market reached the 70 percent mark. According to GfK Retail & Technology, a total of around 4.7 million television sets were sold in Germany in this period, including 3.3 million UHD TVs. In the same period of the previous year, the UHD share was still 62 percent (Q1-Q3 2019: 4.5 million TV sets, of which 2.8 million UHD displays).

HDR is now standard; 97 percent of the UHD displays sold in Q1-Q3 2020 support at least one method for high dynamic range (HDR) and can display content with a significantly greater contrast range and more natural colours in finer gradations. In 55 per cent (1.8 million) of these HDR displays, in addition to the static HDR standards HDR10 and HLG (Hybrid Log Gamma), dynamic HDR methods such as Dolby Vision or HDR10+ are also integrated. 460,000 of the UHD HDR TVs can handle all four of the above-mentioned and currently relevant HDR methods.

Smart TV sales in Germany grow by 14 percent

In a very stable market environment, around 4.1 million smart TV sets were sold in Germany in the first nine months of 2020 according to GfK Retail & Technology – almost 14 percent more than in the previous year (Q1-Q3 2019: 3.6 million). The share of smart displays in the overall market was 88 percent – around five percentage points more than in 2019 (83 percent). In total, more than 44 million smart TVs have been sold in Germany since 2012. Of these, more than 90 percent support the HbbTV standard and thus the use of interactive services via the „red button“ on the remote control. The trend towards larger screens is continuing, with demand for TV sets with diagonals of more than 65 inches increasing noticeably: in the period Q1-Q3 2020, just under 220,000 of these TV sets were sold in Germany – around 18 percent more than in the whole of 2019 (185,000). The segment of smart set-top boxes also recorded strong growth compared to the previous year with almost 280,000 receivers sold (2019: 135,000).

UHD-HDR technology advances to new TV standard

According to GfK Retail & Technology, around 3.2 million television sets were sold in Germany in the first half of 2020, almost 70 percent (2.2 million) of which were UHD sets. Nearly all (97 percent) of the UHD displays sold support High Dynamic Range (HDR) and can display content with a significantly greater contrast range and more natural colors in finer gradations.

A clear trend is also emerging in the supported HDR processes: Until 2017, HDR-capable televisions almost exclusively incorporated so-called static HDR processes such as HDR10 and HLG (Hybrid Log Gamma). The key data for contrast and brightness are defined once for each content. Since 2018, more and more UHD devices have been shipped that are also capable of dynamic HDR processes such as Dolby Vision or HDR10+. These define the desired image impression per scene or even single image. In the first half of 2020, around 1.6 million UHD HDR televisions were purchased, which support dynamic HDR in addition to HDR10 and HLG. 300,000 of these are "HDR all-rounders", which can handle all the above-mentioned currently relevant processes.

Market for TV sets grows slightly despite corona crisis

Despite the corona crisis, GfK Retail & Technology reports that 2.7 million televisions were sold in Germany between January and May 2020, slightly more than in the first five months of the previous year (2.65 million). The proportion of smart TV sets, which enable the use of apps or media libraries via HbbTV and the Internet, continued to rise and stood at 85 percent - around six percentage points more than in the period January to May 2020 (79 percent). In total, almost 40 million smart TVs have been sold in Germany since 2012.

Of these, over 90 percent support the HbbTV standard and thus the use of interactive services via the "red button" on the remote control. The trend towards larger screens continues: 58 percent of the Smart TVs sold from January to May 2020 have a diagonal screen size of 50 inches or larger (2019: 53 percent).

Deutsche TV-Plattform

Marktzahlen

TV-Markt: Anteil UHD-Geräte erreicht 70-Prozent-Marke

Der Anteil von UHD-Fernsehern am TV-Gesamtmarkt hat in den ersten neun Monaten 2020 die Marke von 70 Prozent erreicht. Laut GfK Retail & Technology wurden in diesem Zeitraum insgesamt rund 4,7 Millionen Fernsehgeräte in Deutschland verkauft, darunter 3,3 Millionen UHD-TVs. Im Vorjahreszeitraum lag der UHD-Anteil noch bei 62 Prozent (Q1-Q3 2019: 4,5 Mio. TV-Geräte, davon 2,8 Mio. UHD-Displays).

HDR ist mittlerweile Standard, 97 Prozent der Q1-Q3 2020 abgesetzten UHD-Displays unterstützen mindestens ein Verfahren für High Dynamic Range (HDR) und können Inhalte mit deutlich größerem Kontrastumfang und natürlicheren Farben in feineren Abstufungen darstellen. Bei 55 Prozent (1,8 Mio.) dieser HDR-Displays sind neben den statischen HDR-Standards HDR10 und HLG (Hybrid Log Gamma) auch dynamische HDR-Verfahren wie Dolby Vision oder HDR10+ integriert. 460.000 der UHD-HDR-TVs können mit allen vier genannten und derzeit relevanten HDR-Verfahren umgehen.

Smart-TV Absatz in Deutschland wächst um 14 Prozent

In einem sehr stabilen Marktumfeld wurden in Deutschland laut GfK Retail & Technology in den ersten neun Monaten 2020 rund 4,1 Mio. Smart-TV-Geräte verkauft – das sind knapp 14 Prozent mehr als im letzten Jahr (Q1-Q3 2019: 3,6 Mio.) Der Anteil der smarten Displays am Gesamtmarkts lag bei 88 Prozent – rund fünf Prozentpunkte mehr als 2019 (83 Prozent). Insgesamt wurden in Deutschland seit 2012 über 44 Millionen Smart-TVs verkauft. Davon unterstützen mehr als 90 Prozent den Standard HbbTV und somit die Nutzung interaktiver Dienste über den „Red Button“ auf der Fernbedienung. Der Trend zu größeren Bildschirmen hält an, wobei besonders die Nachfrage nach Fernsehern mit Diagonalen jenseits von 65 Zoll spürbar anzog: im Zeitraum Q1-Q3 2020 wurden in Deutschland knapp 220.000 dieser Fernseher abgesetzt – das sind rund 18 Prozent mehr als im gesamten Jahr 2019 (185.000). Auch das Segment smarte Set-top-Boxen verzeichnete mit knapp 280.000 verkauften Receivern ein starkes Wachstum gegenüber dem Vorjahr (2019: 135.000).

UHD-HDR-Technologie avanciert zu neuem TV-Standard

Im ersten Halbjahr 2020 wurden laut GfK Retail & Technology rund 3,2 Millionen Fernseher in Deutschland verkauft, knapp 70 Prozent (2,2 Mio.) davon waren UHD-Geräte. Nahezu alle (97 Prozent) der abgesetzten UHD-Displays unterstützen High Dynamic Range (HDR) und können Inhalte mit deutlich größerem Kontrastumfang und natürlicheren Farben in feineren Abstufungen darstellen.

Ein deutlicher Trend zeichnet sich zudem bei den unterstützten HDR-Verfahren ab: Bis 2017 waren bei HDR-fähigen Fernsehern fast ausschließlich sogenannte statische HDR-Verfahren wie HDR10 und HLG (Hybrid Log Gamma) integriert. Dabei werden die Eckdaten für Kontrast und Helligkeit einmal je Inhalt festgelegt. Seit 2018 werden immer mehr UHD-Geräte ausgeliefert, die zudem dynamische HDR-Verfahren wie Dolby Vision oder HDR10+ beherrschen. Diese definieren pro Szene oder gar Einzelbild den gewünschten Bildeindruck. Im ersten Halbjahr 2020 wurden rund 1,6 Millionen UHD-HDR-Fernseher gekauft, die neben HDR10 und HLG auch dynamisches HDR unterstützen. 300.000 davon sind „HDR-Alleskönner“, die mit allen genannten derzeit relevanten Verfahren umgehen können.

Markt für TV-Geräte wächst leicht trotz Corona-Krise

Trotz Corona-Krise wurden in Deutschland laut GfK Retail & Technology von Januar bis Mai 2020 mit 2,7 Mio. abgesetzten Geräten etwas mehr Fernseher verkauft als in den ersten fünf Monaten des Vorjahres (2,65 Mio.). Der Anteil smarter TV-Geräte, die die Nutzung von Apps oder Mediatheken über HbbTV und Internet ermöglichen, stieg weiter an und lag bei 85 Prozent – rund sechs Prozentpunkte mehr im Vergleich zum Zeitraum Januar bis Mai 2020 (79 Prozent). Insgesamt wurden seit 2012 in Deutschland knapp 40 Millionen Smart-TVs verkauft.

Davon unterstützen über 90 Prozent den Standard HbbTV und somit die Nutzung interaktiver Dienste über den „Red Button“ auf der Fernbedienung. Der Trend zu größeren Bildschirmen hält an: 58 Prozent der von Januar bis Mai 2020 verkauften Smart-TVs hat eine Diagonale von 50 Zoll oder größer (2019: 53 Prozent).